NAPC leaders re-elected at AGM

NAPC leaders re-elected at AGM

Dr Nav Chana, NAPC Chair
Dr James Kingsland, NAPC President

Dr James Kingsland and Dr Nav Chana will continue in their respective roles as President and Chair of the National Association of Primary Care (NAPC) following re-election at the organisation’s annual general meeting (20 September).

Dr Kingsland, OBE, is a senior partner in a renowned general practice in the North West of England and has been NAPC President since 2008. Dr Chana, a GP at the Cricket Green Medical Practice in South London, has chaired the association since 2014.

Both have been integral to the development and roll out of more than 190 primary care home (PCH) sites across England.

NAPC Chief Executive John Pope said: “It’s great news that two such dynamic and forward-thinking figures, who’ve contributed so much to the development of innovative new ways of working in primary care, will be continuing at the helm of the NAPC. They’ll provide the organisation with the strength and continuity of leadership it needs at a time of radical changes within primary care.”

The NAPC is a leading membership organisation representing the interests of primary care professionals including general practitioners, nurses, practice staff, pharmacists, opticians and dentists.

It’s at the centre of shaping the future of healthcare, spreading innovation, influencing policy, supporting and connecting professionals across primary care – enabling them to provide world-class sustainable patient-centred healthcare.

Dr Minesh Patel was re-elected Vice Chair, Dr Durairaj Jawahar will continue as Treasurer and Karen Acott stays in her role as Honorary Secretary.

Dr Patel is a GP partner at Moatfield Surgery in East Grinstead and is Chair of Horsham and Mid-Sussex Clinical Commissioning Group. Dr Jawahar is an Executive Partner of Manor Park Medical Practice in Leicester and chairs the Millennium Federation of three Leicester practices. Pharmacist Karen Acott is Clinical Board Member of Northern, Eastern and Western NHS (NEW) Devon Clinical Commissioning Group has recently been appointed Honorary Senior Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacy at University of Exeter Medical School

Council member Julie Bolus was elected as a new executive member. She is a registered nurse and Non-Executive Director of Locala – a large community provider in West Yorkshire.

Leave a Reply