NAPC Awards 2019 launched

NAPC Awards 2019 launched

The National Association of Primary Care (NAPC) has launched the NAPC Awards 2019. For the first time this year there will be a new category – Primary Care Network of the Year, reflecting the new landscape and the work already achieved by emerging PCNs.

NAPC are the architects of the primary care home (PCH) model – the original primary care network which has informed national primary care network policy.

The awards celebrate high standards of care, dedication, integration and innovation. They recognise amazing people, teams and organisations which have gone the extra mile to provide improved patient care for their communities.

This year’s awards have five categories which reflect the work of the NAPC and the current environment across primary care. They are designed to highlight innovative practice and those successfully managing primary care.

This year’s categories are:

  • Clinician of the Year
  • Primary Care Manager of the Year
  • Newcomer of the Year
  • Primary Care Network of the Year
  • Primary Care Home of the Year

Dr Mark Spencer, GP and lead at Fleetwood Primary Care Home, winners of last year’s Primary Care Home of the Year Award said: “We were genuinely really chuffed to win the award and all the team in Fleetwood were over the moon. It was wonderful to have everyone in Fleetwood’s hard work recognised at a national level.”

Dr Minesh Patel, NAPC Chair, said: “There have been significant changes across primary care over the last 12 months with the NHS Long Term Plan and we have seen some excellent examples of teams and individuals delivering outstanding care. We are looking forward to giving them the recognition they deserve.”

“I urge everyone working in primary care – whether in general practice, pharmacy, dentistry or optician services – to think about whether they could nominate an outstanding colleague or team who has enhanced primary care and made a difference to patient care.”

Among the judges this year are Dr Patel, Ash Soni OBE, NAPC Council Member and former President of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society and Dr Nav Chana MBE, NAPC Primary Care Home National Clinical Director.

The deadline for entries is Friday 30 August 2019. The winners will be announced at an awards dinner on 9 October 2019 – the first day of NAPC’s annual conference in Birmingham.

To find out more about the categories and how to nominate click here.

Leave a Reply